Caribbean Goodness

Before I got sick, I made a few things that I wanted to share wit you.

Caribbean food is amazing! The dishes are bursting in flavor, it’s like having a party in your mouth every time you take a bite! And eating flavorful food is the only way food should be eaten. It can be a salad, a sandwich, some baked, broiled, fried, etc. I believe that anything/everything I make should have an amazing flavor!

The first thing I made was a Caribbean chicken curry with Rice and peas! It was delicious! I found the recipe on this website – http://caribbeanpot.com/a-non-traditional-stove-top-jerk-chicken/ But as always, I put my own twist to it. I don’t remember what I did, but it tasted good none the less.

The Rice and peas was easy and tasty also! The peas for rice and pea’s are actually Kidney Beans.

Ingredients

2 cups uncooked long grained rice (Make sure to wash and clean it)
2 Bunches of Green Onions (Chopped)
1 onion chopped
2 garlic cloves minced
1 spring fresh thyme
1 can kidney beans
2 cups water
1 can coconut milk
1 scotch bonnet pepper ( i did not have any here so I used jalapeno)
Step One

Heat a tablespoon of oil and add in the onions and let it get soft (about 5 minutes). Next add in the garlic and give it about a minute or two to cook and afterwards add in the green onions and thyme. Add your rice and beans and saute it together.

Step Two

Add the coconut milk, water, salt and pepper, and add in your scotch bonnet pepper. (I did not add any salt) Let all this come to a boil. You can remove your pepper after this or you can keep it in and break it for a spicy taste.

Step Three

Once it boils, simmer it for about 10 minutes and check to see if the water has reduced or if the rice has cooked. I used Basmati rice and my rice cooked real fast!

Once it was ready I served it with my Caribbean chicken curry!

Caribbean Chicken with Rice and Peas

Caribbean Chicken with Rice and Peas

After making this, I found a Curry Goat recipe and I think I will try to make that next!

Tagged: , , , , ,

One thought on “Caribbean Goodness

  1. […] served it with my homemade rice and peas (kidney beans). It was a perfect combination and hearty enough to keep us warm and satisfied with this cold rainy […]

Leave a comment