Oh Texas my Texas…

I know I keep saying how excited I was to go back home during this trip. It came at the right time for me – but also the weather in Texas was amazing! It wasn’t too hot or too cold and I was able to just wear whatever I felt like and enjoy!

A majority of our trip back home is about shopping because I rarely shop while in Kuwait. The only type of shopping I do is groceries… I just find clothes shopping overpriced and irritating in Kuwait, I only do it if I have no other option. My thinking is – Why would I want to spend $100 on something when I can get the same thing for almost half the price back home? I don’t know if it’s because I’m getting on in the years or what, but I LOVE going to Costco, Target, and WalMart! I can spend HOURS there and not get tired. I think my obsession for these stores have increased after living in Kuwait.

Besides shopping we were able to do an early celebration of my dad’s 60th birthday and had a mini family reunion. This was really nice because I was able to see some family members that I hadn’t seen

Birthday Cake!

Birthday Cake!

in years. A few of my cousins even have kids that are a 4 and 5 years old that I haven’t ever seen. I grew up being around my family so going from that to nothing has been eye opening. It really has made me appreciate them in a whole different level. I was able to be there for my aunt and mom’s birthday. These two women have been such a big influence in my life and it was such a joy to be there for both their birthday’s this year!

Big Tex in all his glory

Big Tex in all his glory

We were also able to go to the State Fair of Texas. I haven’t been to the fair in years and I was so excited that we would be in town while the fair was going on. For those of y’all who find it weird that I am was so excited for something like a fair, it’s the biggest fair in the country. You buy your tickets and walk through a fountain area that’s beautiful and then after a little walk you hear Big Tex greeting you and nothing prepares you for this gigantic man wearing a gallon hat with Dickies button down shirt and Dickies jeans with cowboy boots. I think it was about two years ago Big Tex burned down and it was a sad sad day for all Texans. Anyhow they rebuilt Big Tex and I was excited to see the “Newer Larger Big Tex”. The State Fair of Texas is known for all the crazy fried food.. I’ve never been a fan of this because I get crazy heartburn if I eat too much fried stuff – But there a couple things that I just couldn’t stop myself from having: A Corny Dog and a Funnel Cake. The Fletcher’s Corny Dog stand has been part of The State Fair and is a legend. There is no way you can go to the fair and not have one of these things. You might be

All what's left of my delicious corny dog... Got so excited that I forgot to take a picture!

All what’s left of my delicious corny dog… Got so excited that I forgot to take a picture!

wondering what is a corny dog, basically it’s a wiener on a stick that’s dipped in a cornmeal batter and fried to perfection! Yes it’s sinful even thinking about it, but it is delicious. Smear some Ketchup and Mustard and you’re good to go! Besides the food there’s the rides, games, and the amazing concerts

through the day and the big main even at night. The Husband has never been to the Fair so it was such an amazing experience to share it with him. We decided to do a family event and took my youngest brothers and cousins. It was alot of fun just spending time with them and relaxing all day!

I think I can go on and on about my trip, but here’s some pictures for you to go through.

 

 

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Oh Texas my Texas…

  1. Lynda November 19, 2015 at 1:46 am Reply

    I can empathize with so much of this! I went to the State Fair for the first time this year. Was quite an experience! Great pics – especially the selfie in front of Big Tex! 🙂

Leave a Reply

