Carne Guisada Latin Beef Stew

Hi Everyone, I’m sure y’all have all given up on me but I have just been so busy with life and also finding motivation to post. Summer was busy for me because my family came to visit us.

We did our annual US/Canada trip early and went in September. This trip was one of my favorite trips back home because we were able to enjoy amazing weather in both the places! Usually Toronto is

Oh Canada!

Oh Canada!

freezing cold in December and I walk around looking like an Eskimo and get made fun of, but this year it was fabulous. I’ll write and share pictures about my trip.

I have been cooking a lot and taking pictures, but no time to update the blog. I have been talking about Slow Cookers since I came to Kuwait and have been searching but haven’t been able to find it anywhere. Recently a friend of mine found one and gave it to me as a gift and I am just so ecstatic! I really missed having a slow cooker because I used it a lot while in Toronto. I’m really excited to use this especially during the summers and since “winter” is coming up I’ll be making lots of different stews and soups in it!

My wonderful Slow Cooker! It's sitting on top of my washing machine because I have a tiny kitchen and no space anywhere else!

My wonderful Slow Cooker! It’s sitting on top of my washing machine because I have a tiny kitchen and no space anywhere else!

We had a rainy weekend so here’s a recipe I found while perusing some website and blogs. I found this recipe through the Skinnytaste.com website. It’s called Carne Guisada Latin Beef Stew. I didn’t follow the directions exactly because I think I’m incapable of doing this – but it turned out well.

I’m always wary about making beef recipes because it’s so easy to mess up beef. If it’s not tender enough it will be chewy and in steaks I hate when they are overcooked and dry!

Ingredients

Delicious Carne Guisada Stew with Pico Di Gallo

Delicious Carne Guisada Stew with Pico Di Gallo

Olive Oil
1 cup Green Onions – Chopped
3 cloves Garlic – Minced (I used 5)
2 small tomatoes – Chopped
2 tablespoons cilantro – Minced (I had at least 4 or 5)
1 1/2 lb stewing beef
2 tablespoons all purpose flour
1/3 cup light beer (1 cup beef broth because I cannot get beer in Kuwait)
1/3 cup water
1/2 teaspoon cumin
1/4 tsp dry adobo seasoning (did not use this)
1/2 tsp ground achiote (just used paprika)
1 dried bay leaf (used 2)
salt to taste
10 oz baby red potatoes halved or quartered (I used regular potatoes because I couldn’t find red)

Oregano
Chilly Flakes
Black Pepper

Pico De Gallo

1 Onion – Chopped
1 Jalapeno – Chopped (2 Jalapeno if you want more spicy)
1 Tomato – Chopped
Lemon Juice
Salt to taste

Step 1

Heat up a heavy frying pan and add a little bit of oil. When the oil heats up add the chopped garlic and let it cook for 2 minutes but keep watch so that it doesn’t burn. Then add the green onions and let it cook for about 3 minutes.

Add in the tomatoes and cilantro next and mix it all together. Cook for another 3 minutes until the tomatoes become soft. Add a little bit of salt. Once you are done, place into the slow cooker.

Step 2

Add a little bit of oil back into the same pan and let the oil heat up, add in the beef a little bit at a time so you can brown the meat and get a nice crust. I think i did maybe 4 minutes per batch.  I wiped the pan and added a little bit of oil before adding the beef each time. After I did the last set, I placed all the beef back into the pan and added the 2 tablespoons of all purpose flour and just mixed until it coated all the beef. Once the beef is fully coated, add the beef into the slow cooker

Step 3

Next add in all the rest of the ingredients and mix it well. I added some extra water so it would come a little above the meat. I also added some black pepper, oregano, and chilly flakes. Since I added the beef stock, I didn’t add any more salt, but you should take later on to see if it is to your salt preference level. Let it cook on low for about 6 – 8 hours or until the beef is tender and soft.

You can see how much liquid I added.

You can see how much liquid I added.

Pico De Gallo:

To make the Pico De Gallo, I just chopped up some onions, tomatoes, jalapeno, and cilantro and added some lemon juice and salt to taste. Place in fridge to let the flavors mingle together and take out when ready to serve the Carne Guisada.

Look at the beautiful colors of the chopped tomato, onion, jalapeno, and cilantro!

Look at the beautiful colors of the chopped tomato, onion, jalapeno, and cilantro!

This takes a bit of prep work, but you can do it the night before and start it in the morning before going to work and come home from a chilly day to a nice warm stew. The fresh bold taste of the Pico to the warm comforting feeling of the stew will take you to Latin America. I can imagine years ago, an old lady cooking on an open fire with a heavy cauldron stirring away trying to get this dish ready for her family in the evening. Adding the Pico brought the Carne Guisada up a level. You can serve it on rice or eat it by itself. The husband actually ate it with Pita bread and I just had it as a stew.

My comments:

I wasn’t able to find the Adobo or Achiote and beer is illegal in Kuwait so I just added some beef broth. I might add some more vegetables next time I make this. If you want it spicy, maybe try marinating the beef early on with some spices (Cumin, chilly powder, oregano, garlic etc).

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Carne Guisada Latin Beef Stew

  1. Lynda November 10, 2015 at 6:51 am Reply

    welcome back 🙂

    • spicyessence November 10, 2015 at 2:48 pm Reply

      Thanks Lynda! Hope you guys are doing well settling back in Houston! We were in Dallas last month visiting family last month and had such a wonderful time! I love Texas during October!

      • Lynda November 10, 2015 at 7:01 pm

        How nice! October is a great time to be here! 🙂

Leave a Reply

