Tuscan Skillet Chicken

One of my favorite things to do is search on Google for recipes and go through Pineterst just to check
out pictures and get new ideas an be inspired to cook. . I can spend hours just searching for, reading 20150401_133404about, and watching youtube videos on different recipes.

Before the internet was readily available (the prehistoric days 😛 ) – I used to watch PBS
cooking shows whenever I got the chance. I grew up watching Julia Childs, Jacques Pepin,
and Martin Yan on the weekends. I always looked forward to this on Saturday
mornings/afternoons. We didn’t have cable so Food Network wasn’t availble at the time.
I’m not even sure if Food Network was even conceived during this time. Another thing I did was go to the library to read recipe books. I never really cooked growing up, but I loved to watch others cook. After getting married, I realized I would have to start cooking so that’s how I started! Anyhow, back to the recipe.

I found this recipe for Tuscan Chicken through Pintrest. I took a risk the first time I
made this and cooked this for 13 people.For some reason, I get these inspirations to try
out new recipes when guests come over, which is probably not a good idea. You can find
the original recipe here. This recipe was a hit and I made it again last week for just The Husband and me.

My favoritething is that you can cook everything in one pan! I love to cook, but the only thing I hate is the aftermath with cleaning and washing all the pots.In Kuwait we don’t have a dishwasher so everything has to be cleaned by us. 😦 <— Sad Face

For the recipe I used mainly the same ingredients but I made some changes because I couldn’t find the right ingredients. I found some regular sun dried tomatoes, but it was selling for KD 5 at the store! This is around $18 and I just coudn’t get myself to buy this so I bought the sauce instead which was only KD 2 (about 7 bucks). One thing I just can’t get around is how expensive things are at the grocery store. Sometimes I gasp at the amount I spend at the grocery store for a week.

Ingredients

Some olive oil
4 chicken breasts cut into bite size pieces (I cannot find chicken tenders in Kuwait, and I
like having it in bite size pieces)
1 teaspoon – black pepper
1 teaspoon – italian seasoning
1 teaspoon – Mrs. Dash Garlic & Herb
1 onion – chopped
3 cloves garlic – minced
2 packages mushrooms – sliced (You can use 1 package if you want less, but I love mushrooms
and can never have too many)
1 8 oz – bottle of sundried tomato pesto sauce (This is the main change I made)
1 15 oz – can Cannelini Beans, drained and rinsed
2 15 oz – cans fire roasted diced tomatoes
Chili flakes – as needed
1 tablespoon sugar
Salt and pepper, to taste

Instructions

First – season the chicken with salt, pepper, and Mrs. Dash and let it marinate for 30
minutes.

Heat 1 tablespoon of olive oil in a large sauté pan or cast iron skillet over medium-high
heat, then add the chicken and brown for 3 minutes on each side.

Heat some olive oil in a large skillet over medium high heat and let it cook for 3 minutes
on each side. You should get it brown on both sides. Once this happens, take the pieces of
chicken and set it aside on a plate.

Next add a little bit more oil (The recipe says add oil, but I didn’t) and add in the
mushrooms and let it brown and set it aside. You can work in batches so that you don’t over
crowd the pan. Once this browns set it aside onto another plate.

Now add a bit of oil and add the onion and saute till it glistens. Add in the garlic and
the sun dried tomatoes and mix. Next add in the fire roasted tomatoes, italian seasoning,
chilli flakes, beans, and sugar and mix well. Once it’s mixed, add the chicken pack into
the pan and gently mix the sauce mixture so the chicken will submerse inside.

I let this mixture bubble then I lowered the heat, and closed the lid for about 25 or 30
minutes. I added the mushrooms and and mixed everything together.

Give it a taste and add salt, pepper, and chilli flakes if needed. I added some more because I like to have a little bit of kick in my food!

And you’re done! This is a pretty heavy dish that you can eat by itself with a salad. Ifyou want, you can make some pasta and mix it with the chicken. You can also eat this with a nice crusty bread. 

Hope you enjoy!

20150401_133404

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

