You are not alone!

“You treat a disease, you win, you lose. You treat a person, I guarantee you, you’ll win, no matter what the outcome.” – Patch Adams, Patch Adams

Yesterday morning I was reading through different headlines and saw there was a post saying Robin Williams dies of an apparent suicide at 63. I had to Google Robin Williams to make sure it was true. This was a complete shocker! One of the most talented actors who was known for his comedic roles killed himself.

As I am writing this post, it just feels so surreal to be writing about him in a past tense. Writing about a man whom I had grown up watching, killed himself. I couldn’t help but reminisce of my three favorite movies of Robin Williams. The Genie in Aladdin, Mrs. Doubtfire, and in Patch Adams. I remember watching Aladdin and Mrs. Doubtfire countless time. Mrs. Doubtfire especially, I remember this was one of the movies my brother and I could watch over and over with our parents!

It just breaks my heart when I think that he felt he had no where else to go or no other choice and had to end his life for that reason. Nobody knew what he was struggling, but one thing is that his struggles are not uncommon.

I am not writing this post to say suicide is wrong or right. Growing up in an Indian family, discussing situations like this is taboo, but I just want there to be an awareness that depression is a disease. This stigma that is associated with depression should change. It shouldn’t be hidden away or swept under the rug. Nobody should think they are ever alone.

Speak to somebody, talk to a friend, your spouse, visit a doctor. Please try to get help! Don’t think that you don’t have an option because there is always an answer.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

