Marriage as I know it

Last weekend a friend of mine came over and we were talking about random things. She mentioned a Couples Picturesseries of videos she watched by Mark Gungor. So then we (Friend, The Husband, and I) sat and watched one of his seminars, and The Husband and I really enjoyed watching it and I hope we’ll be able to continue watching them together.

I was Googling Mark Gungor and was just going through different links on his website, there was one page that was all different types of articles. As I was going down the different titles I saw the first link under Married Life that says “10 Resolutions for My Marriage in 2014” The reason this caught my eye was in the beginning of the year The Husband I wrote five things that we wanted from the other person to make our marriage better. The sad part about this is that we both wrote our five points, but then never got the chance to discuss it! Anyhow, I saw this and thought I’d see what this lady’s 10 Resolutions for Marriage was. (You can read it by clicking HERE)

She starts of the article by stating she has an amazing marriage, but she can do better! I think I am also in the same boat! I have a wonderful marriage, but I know I can be a better wife. I love my husband more than I did the day we got married, but I can be a better person a nicer person to my husband.

After reading this article, I started thinking about what makes a good wife and what I’ve learned about marriage in the five years I’ve been married. I am writing this through my perspective as a wife and have provided Bible verses. Even if you are not religious, I think these are good points to go on. I am not writing this as a marriage expert because I have only been married for 5 years and I know there are many other capable people out there who can say so much more, but these are a few thoughts that I have come up with that have helped me in my marriage.

After reading my points you might think I am not a feminist and I don’t care about my rights as a women, but being a submissive wife does not been that you are letting your husband tell you what to do or you have no rights… I will write another post on my views of submissiveness.

1. Make sure to keep your marriage in your prayer! God has a plan in every marriage and for us to know what that is,we need to pray and seek God’s will! (Proverbs 2:1-6 & Proverbs 3:5-6)

2. Show your husband love, Show your husband kindness, be a peaceful wife, have a joyful heart, Show self-control and restraint, strive to be an excellent wife, always be faithful to God and you will be faithful to your husband, Be gentle and tender towards your husband (Galatians 5:22-23)

3. Don’t give up on your marriage! Love never fails! (1 Corinthians 13)

4. Don’t be selfish.. It’s not about you always! (Philippians 2:3)

5. Be respectful towards your husband (Ephesians 5:33)

6. Keep the Lord as your number one (Colossians 3:17)

7. Marriage brings together two sinners (Romans 3:23) so marriage should make two forgivers.

8. Serve your husband by submitting to him! (Ephesians 5:22-24)

9. Be slow to speak, quick to listen, and slow to anger (James 1:9) I am the type that is quick to speak, but the husband is very methodical in speaking and I can at times just go on and on. I have learned over the years to listen more because The Husband has much to say.

10. Smile! After a rough day at the office, when he comes home.. SMILE at him! When we were in Toronto, one thing The Husband likes me to do when he gets home is get up and greet him with a smile and hug. Remember a smile goes a long way!

11. Don’t think what you see in the movies or read is what real romance is like. Grand gestures is not what is real romance (not that grand gestures are bad…), real romance is the everyday things. True love is sacrificing things you love for your spouse, sharing your burdens, listening to everything he says, keeping promises, making him happy just by doing simple things.

These are a few points I have come up with and there are many more. I am not a perfect wife, but a wife that sins and I have to constantly work to remind myself these things.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Marriage as I know it

  1. Shiney Joseph August 17, 2014 at 11:23 am Reply

    Awesome read … I love point 7! Wonder who The friend is though 😉

  2. Linda Creation May 11, 2015 at 1:32 pm Reply

    Wooooow So glad to stop by ur blog it’s amazing & just fell in ❤ with this incredible post.

    • spicyessence May 14, 2015 at 1:48 pm Reply

      Thank you so much for stopping by and commenting! I want to write more articles similar to this, but finding time is the problem!

Leave a Reply

