Get your Moushakel while it’s hot!

I love Middle Eastern food! I’ve also learned not to call it Middle Eastern food, instead call it Arabic food. One of my favorite go to meals is eating a Moushakel! I am not sure how to spell it, but it’s one of my favorite go to foods! There are two places in Kuwait that I like to go to to have this. One is a place in the city on the corner close to the Mubarakia, unfortunately I have no idea what the street name is! All I know is they’re so popular and the food is always so fresh and delicious! I took a picture of the place if that will help! The second place I like to eat my moushakel is at the restaraunt Canary. Their moushakleis also pretty good. It’s not as soft because the pita bread is not soft like the samoon bun, but it’s still a great fresh taste!

Moushakel Locations

Y’all might be wondering now what in the world is a Moushakel?? A moushakel is a type of vegetarian wrap or sandwich. You might be thinking, UUMMM vegeterian? I know at first I was apprehensive also, but I love this sandwich! A Moushakel can come as a wrap using a pita bread or as a sandwich in a bun(samoon). Both ways it’s called a sandwich. I like it both ways, but I like it only from two places in Kuwait so far! The inside comprises of a nice crispy falafels that are smashed, french fries, roasted eggplant, some cucumber slices, tomatoes, and then a nice heaping of tahini. A falafel is made out of chickpeas and parsley with spices along with it. So this sandwich is full of protein and also delicious veggies!

IMG_20140624_125216

Canary Wrap before bite

IMG_20140624_124613

After a bite

IMG_20140321_115811

You can see the veggies and fries sticking out and inside is the yummy falafels all inside this bun

IMG_20140321_115756

We usually order the wraps with a side order of falafels because you can never have enough falafels! The place in the city gives you a few falafels along with the moushakel sandwich.

IMG_20140321_115707

Our free falafels from the place in the city!

I found another blogger who also likes Moushakels and you can check out his post here.

I hope if you ever try this sandwich you will enjoy it as much as I do!

 

 

 

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Get your Moushakel while it’s hot!

  1. Linda Creation May 14, 2015 at 2:23 pm Reply

    I too Love Canary Food & do try their Kushari it’s outstanding 🙂

    • spicyessence May 14, 2015 at 3:21 pm Reply

      You know I have o idea what else to order from there… What is on their menu? I wish there was an English section.. 😛

      • Linda Creation May 14, 2015 at 3:22 pm

        Yah dear even i m confuse but through ma Engineer i know abt Khusari do try and rice with Kheema and Pine Nuts let me ask n confirm

Leave a Reply

