Six Months!!!

It’s been six months since we’ve been in Kuwait! I cannot believe it’s been six months already! For those of y’all who thought I wouldn’t be able to last past 3 months..This princess has made it to six! πŸ™‚

I thought writing about the great things of Kuwait would be the best way to commemorate our six month stay in Kuwait!
I enjoy living in a country that is surrounded by water. The Husband and I used to walk around the beach and enjoy the view..currently, the beaches are crowded and the weather has gotten cooler so we don’t go to the beach.

I like the fact there is no tax!! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

I like that fast food is a moushakle (falafel/veggie sandwich) instead of unhealthy Mcdonalds

I like that gas is cheap!

I like that 1 dinar goes a long way! (1 dinar = $3.5)

These were all what I could think off the top of my head…
I have created a bucket list and it keeps growing, but hopefully by the time we leave I can knock it all off by the time we leave Kuwait!

So here’s my ever changing list!

1. Visit the Kuwait Towers
2. Visit the House of Mirrors (this is a house, and the inside and outside is decorated by broken glass) – https://www.google.com.kw/search?q=mirror+house+kuwait&newwindow=1&espv=210&es_sm=93&tbm=isch&tbo=u&source=univ&sa=X&ei=OVGwUvqeKoGjhgf6h4HQCg&ved=0CC8QsAQ&biw=1366&bih=652
3. Tour the Grand Mosque
4. Visit the Kuwait National Museum
5. Go to Souk Mubarakiya
6. Have a BBQ on the beach
7. Take a boat ride around Kuwait
8. Visit the Islands
9. Drive from one end of the Kuwait border to the other end
10. Learn Arabic
11. Make a traditional Kuwaiti meal

Our favorite restaraunts in Kuwait!

For Shawerma’s there’s this place in the city near the grand mosque.. I think it’s the best shawerma I’ve ever had! I have no idea what the name of the place is, but the best Shawerma’s and Moushakles!

Traditional Kuwaiti – we went to a place called Mataam Al Shammam in the Souk Mubarakiya area.. We ordered so much stuff and didn’t even make a dent, but it is one of my favorite places to eat!

PF Changs is our Chinese go to place, but when you compare the prices to back home it is more expensive.. So it’s a nice treat!

I like Olive garden (Soup, salad, and breadsticks) πŸ™‚

Texas Roadhouse is also really good! We only went there once, but it was a nice taste of home…

For North Indian food, we found a place called Dawat.. and they serve really good food that’s not so greasy!

South Indian food, I fell in love with a place called Udipi in Kuwait City! I get my dosa fix from there!

We found this place called Carribean Hut, which is run by a Puerto Rican man.. They serve some amazing food!

I’ve seen online that there’s a Jamaican and Ethiopian place in Kuwait, but have yet to try..
After coming to Kuwait, I have been documenting my cooking more.. I would like to figure out how to take better picutres and learn about lighting and angles and all… Let’s see how that goes.

I think I’ve written before, The Husband and I spend alot more time together now.. Being in Kuwait has made us rely more on each other…We go to the office together and see eachother and then go home and make dinner together..and since we have no dishwasher, we’ve come up with a system of cleaning! (Yes I did say we have NO dishwasher!)

Some of ya’ll have been asking me about what our place looks like.. I haven’t finished decorating, but I will post some pictures of what I have so far..soon πŸ™‚
So happy six month anniversary to us in Kuwait!

Tagged: , ,

4 thoughts on “Six Months!!!

  1. Joel December 18, 2013 at 9:28 pm Reply

    Way to be Jeena! πŸ˜€

    • spicyessence December 23, 2013 at 1:26 pm Reply

      Woohoo! πŸ™‚

  2. Kevan December 22, 2013 at 10:06 pm Reply

    Thanks for the list of restaurants we will be trying them too! Only been here 2 months so far… but intending to be here for 3 years.

    • spicyessence December 23, 2013 at 9:57 am Reply

      Thanks for the comment! There’s a lot more restaurants that we like, but these were just on the top of my list! I hope you’re enjoying your time so far! I think the most important thing is to have a good support system (friends/family) behind you and your experience will be a lot better here!

Leave a Reply

