Beef and Okra Stew

The last few days have been wet and cold. On Monday I had to run from the office to my car and I was drenched by the time I reached the car. I still had to go home and make dinner and I hadn’t figured out what to make. Since I was cold, I wanted to make some nice comfort food.

I thought about what was in my fridge, some beef, some vegetables. I needed to make something that IMG_20131119_210416was simple, but tasty. I thought of making a beef and okra stew. I picked up the Okra earlier in the week and didn’t want it to get bad. Now you’re probably thinking, Okra? Okra and beef? Okra is actually one of my favorite vegetables. I grew up different types of okra dishes.

This dish is pretty simple to create, it has a tomato base so it is like a stew, with a nice hint of spice, but not overpowering. Sorry that I don’t have the exact measurements for the spices…

Ingredients

Beef cut into cubes
Okra cut into 1 inch pieces
Onions – diced
Tomatoes – diced
Tomato paste
Garlic – about 4 minced
Ginger – about 2 inches minced
2 chili peppers – I slice it down the middle
A little turmeric powder
Some paprika
cumin powder
Garam Masala
Salt to taste
Oil
First I heated up some oil in a pot and let it smoke a little. Then I added my onions and sauted it until it became translucent. Next I added the ginger, garlic, and chili pepper and sauted it with the onions for 3-4 minutes. Make sure you stir the mixture so nothing burns, and make sure your heat is not too high.

After this I added my spice mixture, a little bit of turmeric, paprika or chili powder if you want more spice, cumin powder, and some garam masala. I let it cook for a minute or so and then added my tomatoes and let it cook down. Once the chunks of the tomato has cooked down, I added some tomato paste and let that cook.

Next, I added the beef and coated it with the spice mixture and added about 2 cups of water and let it cook. I think I cooked it for about 45 minutes in total.

As the beef was cooking, I heated up a frying pan and added the okra and let it get a nice brown color. If you want you can add some oil to the frying. I did not do this. After it was fried, I kept it aside.

About five minutes before you are ready to take the beef off the stove, add in your okra. Make sure that your beef is tender and ready. You just want to add the okra at the last minute so that the shape remains the same!

You can serve this with rice, or eat it as a stew with some nice Jalapeno cornbread!

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

