Kerala cooking part 1

I love having my stove and have been making great use of it!!! The only thing about my stove I don’t like is that we bought a white one and I’m so paranoid it will get dirty or stain! So after I cook I give it a good clean every night!

I only started cooking regularly after I got married. Before that I was living with my parents so my mom always cooked. My way of cooking is checking out a recipe or different recipes and then making my own version using the different pointers. I can never follow a recipe to the dot. The only time I follow a recipe exactly is when I bake and the only time I change anything is if I want to lower the sugar amount.

So anyhow, I decided that I was going to try and cook South Indian food. South Indian food is one of my favorite types of cuisine! I grew up on it and I love it! I’ve made all types of food. American, Tex-Mex, Southern, Thai, Chinese, North Indian, Caribbean… But I have never attempted South Indian Keralite food. Growing up I used to stand in the kitchen and talk to my mom as she cooked and watched her make different types of dishes. I was always amazed at how she knew exactly when to put in the spices and add different ingredients without using a recipe. And at the end the dishes would be piled up in the sink. Making one dish equals about 4-5 different prep bowls at least. I think seeing her do everything so well intimidated me and I always thought there’s no way I could make traditional food like that!

After coming to Kuwait, I told myself that I should learn to cook south Indian food. So I started my

Top left: Dal Curry Bottom left: Potato Fry Right: Chicken curry

Top left: Dal Curry
Bottom left: Potato Fry
Right: Chicken curry

adventure of Kerala cooking! I made chicken curry, dal curry, potato fry, and rice. These were my favorite things to eat as a child growing up!

Making the food wasn’t hard, I just had to be systematic in when I put my ingredients and had to chop a whole bunch of onions. I used at least six onions in the process! I still haven’t gotten used to my kitchen here so once I accustom myself, it will be a smoother flow.

Final product on the plate with rice

Final product on the plate with rice

Tagged: , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Kerala cooking part 1

  1. Appetiser! | rollingpindotme October 12, 2013 at 5:38 pm Reply

    […] Kerala cooking part 1 (spicyessence.wordpress.com) […]

  2. Liz November 6, 2013 at 10:39 pm Reply

    The curries look delicious. I love curries! thanks for sharing!

  3. spicyessence November 7, 2013 at 12:54 pm Reply

    I do too!! I think the actual cooking part is easy, but the prep work is what takes so much time! And then at the end you are left to wash a sink load of dishes!!

Leave a Reply

