Around the house…

As I wrote in my previous post, we bought some furniture! I think the push came from reading that blog about settling down. We would walk into our house everyday and walk into an empty living room.. Then we would go straight to our bedroom which has a bed and it was starting to get really depressing.

So Saturday Friday we decided we are going to just find something and buy it! Our problem was we fell in love with one set, but it was just way too expensive to buy while we were in Kuwait! So every sofa we saw, we would compare it to that!

We went to a furniture shop Friday and saw 3 sofa’s we liked in ONE STORE! Both of us were so surprised! By process of elimination, we knocked each of them out.. And came up with the one we bought. We also were able to get a dining table set. In Canada we had a barstool square 4 seat table which was perfect for our little corner, but the problem with that was when we gave a dinner party, everyone would have to sit on the sofa crowded around the coffee table.. So this time we got a solid dark wood six seater table with chairs. Hopefully we will be giving dinner parties here soon! I’m excited to buy my ‘sessies for the table and couch. Also, have to decide on curtains for the rooms…

Price wise I feel it is the same or more expensive compared to USA/Canada depending on the store. I went to Pottery barn and thought Pottery Barn in the US is cheaper. I think you can get really cheap stuff here, but the styles don’t go with our tastes and we are scared it will break down.. My thought process on pricing in Kuwait is.. Even though there is no tax, companies put the tax in and show the final price. Also, depending on where the product is made they have to fly into Kuwait.

I don’t know if I said earlier, we finally got the cylinder exchanged with a new one and we are able to cook! I made our first meal Wednesday night and paid homage to my TexMex roots.. Ok I have no Mexican roots, but I grew up eating Mexican food and it’s one of my favorite cusines!! I crave TexMex food all the time! I wanted to make something easy and something that didn’t require so much concentration and work.. So I thought of Chipotle.. Chipotle is a favorite place for me to go.. When I lived in Dallas, I think I went there once every two weeks atleast and had a burrito bowl with their yummy cilantro lime rice, chicken or barbacoa, black beans, fajita mixture, corn salsa, Medium salsa, sour cream, cheese, and guac.. So delicious!! I could never finish a whole bowl, but I would take it home and eat it later as my second round! Once I moved to Canada, I started cooking and experimenting on how I could make this, but in a more healthier, but still yummy way!

So anyhow, all this popped into my head and I made my version of Chipotle’s Fajita burrito bowl with chicken here in Kuwait! Here’s a picture of it… I don’t know if you can tell, but the salsa is missing.. I have all the ingredients for salsa, but couldn’t make it because I haven’t bought a blender yet. I really miss my Kitchen Aid blender here.. I’ve been researching on what blender to buy since I use it so much!

But our first meal was a success even without the salsa! After being out of the kitchen since May, it felt so good just to eat something I cooked!

PhotoGrid_1381212261394

4 thoughts on “Around the house…

  1. Joel October 9, 2013 at 12:40 am Reply

    Food looks so gooooooooooooooooooooooooooooood! 😀

  2. spicyessence October 9, 2013 at 10:19 am Reply

    Come over and I’ll cook for you!!! 🙂

  3. Eazt November 17, 2013 at 6:28 am Reply

    This is a great idea…Definitely gonna have to look up online recipes for some Mexican food. Can’t believe I haven’t thought of that before.

    • spicyessence November 17, 2013 at 9:19 am Reply

      I love searching for recipes and trying out different cuisines! Another restaurant copycat I like to make is the PF Changs, Chicken Lettuce Wraps!

Leave a Reply

