Thoughts regarding Miss America

Yesterday my Facebook feed was going crazy regarding the outrage that the 2014 Miss America was a woman of Indian Heritage! The article that kept coming up was from BuzzFeed – http://www.buzzfeed.com/ryanhatesthis/a-lot-of-people-are-very-upset- that-an-indian-american-woman .. I was curious about this so I clicked the article. I felt so much sadness when I read all the negative tweets from the different people. The fact that it is 2013 and people are still thinking this way makes me so sad!

I read the article once, and then I re-read it because I just could not believe that people would say things like that! They sounded so ignorant and racist it just made me feel sad. First of all, India is not an Arab country! It is nowhere near the “Arab” area, aka the Middle East! India’s biggest religion is Hinduism and not Islam!

The next thing I read that was just plain mean! They were upset that she was crowned Miss America close to the anniversary of 9/11 and she was part of Al-Qaeda! What does that have to do with anything? I remember when 9/11 happened, and I was sitting in Spanish class and my teacher turned on the TV’s and we were watching what was happening and my teacher made a comment to
me saying, well that’s your people. I don’t remember her exact words, but I remember she made such a horrible comment that I was shocked and couldn’t even respond back to her! When I read the different tweets they said about her, this memory came back to me! How ignorant can people get? Just because of our brown skin color does not mean that we are part of a terrorist group!

I saw the meme posted with this article regarding Miss Kansas and what the “Real Miss America” should look like. The image they have of Miss Kansas shows she’s a “real American” and have the following labels: an army vet, shoots guns, has tattoos, and blonde hair and light skin. Apparently, this is what American values are all about! I cannot relate to any of those things. I have black hair, my skin is dark, I was not in the army, I am not a big fan of guns, and I have no tattoos, but I consider myself an American. The definition of America is a melting pot of cultures. The United State of America was formed by immigrants, the “real” Americans are the Native Americans!

My parents came to America as an immigrant and made something out of themselves. I think that is the American story and that is what a true American is.

I read another blog regarding this and they quoted Martin Luther King Jr.’s speech and I would also like to post it.

I have a dream that one day this nation will rise up and live out the true meaning of its creed: “We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal.”

I have a dream that my four little children will one day live in a nation where they will not be judged by the color of their skin but by the content of their character.

I have a dream today!

I have a dream that one day every valley shall be exalted, and every hill and mountain shall be made low, the rough places will be made plain, and the crooked places will be made straight; “and the glory of the Lord shall be revealed and all flesh shall see it together.”

-Martin Luther King Jr’s “I Have a Dream”

Tagged: , , , , ,

One thought on “Thoughts regarding Miss America

  1. LaurenofArabia September 21, 2013 at 12:28 am Reply

    It really annoys me to hear Americans commenting this way about her because her ancestors are Indian. So what? What does India have to do with terrorism and AlQaeda? I’m sorry to say but your average American is a disgrace when it comes to world issues and many cannot find India on a map. I am very proud that she won obviously she was the best candidate.

Leave a Reply

