Homesickness

These last few weeks have been an emotional roller coaster for me. I think homesickness is slowly creeping in. I see all the fun my friends are having back home and hear all the updates on what is going on with them and just feel so sad. This last weekend was a close friends wedding. This friend is so close and special to me and missing out on her big day was really upsetting!

I think in my head, did we make the right decision? Is leaving our friends and family worth being here? Living here is stressful and I feel like such an outsider in Kuwait! I’m trying to stay positive and tell myself it just takes time to settle in. And really, we haven’t settled in yet. We still haven’t moved into a proper apartment, so technically we are living in suitcases still. I think that’s one of the most frustrating things. Who knew it would take this much time to settle in!

But I just can’t help but think if we have made the right decision? Will it be worth it in the end?  There are many people who would want to have this opportunity like what we got. I know this entry is really depressing, but I just couldn’t write about anything else. I’m trying to get out of this funk and will write happy thoughts.

Tagged: , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Homesickness

  1. Sara Louise August 28, 2013 at 12:43 pm Reply

    There is nothing worse than when that homesick feeling creeps up. Mine has been coming in waves lately as well. Just remember that you are living an amazing experience, trying out new things and new adventures, and there is always Skype. Thank heavens for Skype!

    Spotted you over on Expatwomen and thought I would pop on over and say hello… Bonjour!

    • spicyessence August 29, 2013 at 9:28 am Reply

      Thank you so much for the encouragement! I try to tell myself this is such an amazing experience and I should enjoy every moment!!!
      I went through your blog yesterday, love the story of how you met your husband!!

  2. LaurenofArabia September 3, 2013 at 10:03 pm Reply

    Im glad i came across your blog. Kuwait is very different than what you may be used to. It will take time for you to adjust. Once you get settled and make a bunch of friends things will get better. Ive been living in Kuwait for 5 years. There are times when i have felt homesick, talking about it really helps. Take care and keep writing.

Leave a Reply

