I love you Ammachee!

This picture was taken August 2010 in India
About three weeks ago my mom called me to tell me that my grandmother passed away! I was so shocked when I heard this and I didn’t know what to think. She fell down and things just got worse from there. Nobody expected her to pass away so fast, and I guess that is why it has been a struggle for me to accept that she died. The thought that she is no longer in this world saddens me, even though I know that she is in a better place where there is no sickness or sorrow. The verse from Luke 23:43 comes into my mind “Today you will be with me in paradise.” His comfort, mercifulness, faithfulness,love, caring, and goodness were enough for my grandmother. Without Him, my grandmother would not have been able to smile or be the women she was.

My grandmother was Godly woman whom I admired for her strength and love and amazing cooking skills! She led such a full life. She and my grandfather had six children that they raised to love and fear the Lord. She had many grandchildren and great-grandchildren, and she was able to see them. I have such great memories of my grandma… One of my fondest memories was when my brother and I were younger. She lived with us and we would ask her to make us hotdogs and since she didn’t know English and we didn’t know Malayalam properly we would call hot dogs “chodda = hot” “patti = dog” and she would make them for us. Another time me and her wanted to make something and we accidently caught the pan on fire so then I used the fire extinguisher to put out the fire, what a mess that made… Needless to say my parents banned both of us from cooking unless they were home. I just think of all the memories I have of her and think of how blessed I was to have her stay with us while we were growing up. I know that is not a luxury many people have. After she passed away, a person wrote on my facebook wall a memory that he had of my grandmother and how she was a blessing in his life.

My grandmothers love for others was so great, but the love that God has for us is even greater. One of my favorite verses John 3:16 “”For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life.” This verse says it all for me. Even though He gave His only Son for us, He didn’t stop there. He helps me in times of sorrow and anger. He heals me when I am sick and helps me as I through pain and suffering. He has been my comforter and my confidant. He has provided for me in all my materialistic needs/wants. He has been my true Savior. Over the years, I have learned to look to God as my actual Father and just sit and talk to Him about things going on in my life. Knowing that He is there by my side no matter what is such a good feeling.

Leave a Reply

