Kerala Chicken Curry

I’ve always wanted to make chicken curry, but always refrained because I thought it would be so much work. I had bought Eastern Chicken Masala a while back so today finally got a chance to use it!!

I use store bought ginger and garlic that is chopped and in a bottle. The reason I used drumsticks is because I don’t know how to cut chicken bone..:)

Ingredients
– 8 chicken drumsticks
– 5 spoons Eastern Chicken Masala
– 1 onion sliced
– 1 table spoon garlic
– 1 table spoon ginger
– 2 chili peppers
– 1/2 spoon mustard seed
– 2 Roma tomatoes cut
– 2 peeled and cubed potatoes
– oil
– salt to taste

Clean the chicken. In a large bowl add the Eastern Chicken Masala and some salt and mix the chicken pieces so the masala is evenly distributed. Keep aside.

In a small chopper, chop the chili pepper, garlic, and ginger so that it will make a paste.

– Heat oil in the pot and once the oil is hot add the mustard seed.
– Once that is popped add the sliced onion and and saute it for a bit.
– Add the garlic, ginger, chili paste and fry together until the onions are translucent.
– Add the tomatoes and saute for about 5-7 minutes until the tomatoes are a little mashed.
– Add the chicken pieces with 3 cups of water.
Add the potato cubes.
– Add salt to taste.

– Cook until done. I cooked it for about 45 minutes for the gravy to become thick.

I made fried rice and yogurt vegetable salad with this. I’ll post the recipes on these two items later. You can eat this with chapati, naan, parathas, bread, or plain rice.

I hope you enjoy this as much as I enjoyed making and eating it.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Kerala Chicken Curry

  1. Pilland January 29, 2010 at 3:01 pm Reply

    I arrived here just exploring. Congratulations on Your good site and best wishes from Italy

  2. deepa January 29, 2010 at 4:09 pm Reply

    Hey Jeena!

    Though I dont eat non-veg this chicken looks yummiee!!
    U know the secret the way to a man's heart is through his stomach 😉

    If possible post some veggi recipes too 😛

    tc
    deepa

  3. Couch Potato January 29, 2010 at 4:14 pm Reply

    @ Pilland thanks! I hope you'll keep popping in 🙂

    @ Deepa- I'll put some veg recipes that I have tried for you 🙂

  4. Nissi January 29, 2010 at 9:12 pm Reply

    Oooh looks yummy!

  5. Shelley January 30, 2010 at 7:19 pm Reply

    Well hello there Chef Jeena! 🙂 Your chicken curry looks delicious… I think I'm gonna give it a shot =)

  6. Alwin January 31, 2010 at 2:22 pm Reply

    Jeena, that chicken definitely looks uncooked!!!

Leave a Reply

